Hands free

I was driving in my neighborhood a few weeks ago and passed by this front yard where I saw something that, at first glance, made me sad.

There was a man watering his front garden, the water hose in his left hand and his cell phone in his right. Which wasn’t that odd I guess, except that he was totally focused on his phone, not paying attention to anything else going on, including his little son riding his tricycle in the front yard.

Now, it took me probably 5 seconds to drive by this scene. I do not presume to say that this man was not watching his son, or is a bad father, or whatever other conclusions someone could jump to. I simply noticed it and it made me feel sad.

I guess it made me think about myself and my own struggle with trying to live a more hands-free life. I really dislike being attached to my phone. If I’m always sucked in to the screen, I’m not experiencing the life around me. At the same time, that screen connects me to so many people who I would otherwise lose touch with. So I’ve been working really hard to balance this in my life, even deleting my facebook account for a little while.

ZOMBIES

But now that Josh and I own a business, I feel like I am CONSTANTLY on my phone. I’m checking our facebook engagement, or responding to messages from potential members, uploading a photo to instagram, talking to current members, or adding the next day’s workout to our website. There is no such thing as 9-5 when you own the joint.

These tasks are necessary for our business. But I do not want our daughter to grow up remembering me with my face down at my hands.

cell phone

I’ve got to find a way to deal with this. A really wise woman told me to think of life as a bunch of plates we have to balance. When I try to worry about all the plates at once it’s too much. I have to take it one plate at a time. And remember that not all the plates are of the same importance.

This is a daily battle for me. I feel like I have to be everything to everyone all the time. But I don’t. I just don’t. It’s ok to do it one plate at a time.

be there
Leave a comment

