Love potion #9

We have a home video of me at about age 4 or 5 using a little toy microphone to sing Love Potion #9, one of my favorite songs that my dad used to sing to me. I had no idea what it was about and I barely understood the lyrics but I sang my heart out anyway.

I’ve been thinking about that song this week because of how good I’ve been feeling. Ya’ll know I love running, it’s the whole reason I started this blog way back when. And I’ve had my ups and downs with it. Recently, I’ve been down because of all the SI pain I’ve had with this pregnancy. After about week 10, my few attempts at running looked something like this

Forest_Gump_Running

and didn’t last very long. It just wasn’t working.

But something weird happened…the pain disappeared a few weeks ago. Since I’d been feeling better, I was out walking and decided I’d take a few quick steps just to see how my back felt. When it didn’t hurt at all I just kept going and I’ve been doing 2 walk/jogs a week ever since.

I feel awesome! So much more energy throughout the day and better self esteem overall. I even lost 2 pounds which put me back in the healthy weight gain window.

But where I’ve noticed the most improvement is my mood. Especially on the days I run. Things that normally annoy me aren’t so bad. A jaywalker is just a friendly pedestrian. A long red light is just time for me to sing along to the music. And I am overly sweet to everyone I come in contact with. It’s like I’ve taken a love potion.

Love-Potion

I guess it’s just that famous runner’s high. But I’m pretty sure running doesn’t have the same effect on everyone…

bad run

So maybe we each have our own love potion number…

“Loving people live in a loving world. Hostile people live in a hostile world. Same world.”-Wayne Dyer

One comment

Leave a comment

