The joy thief

So I really hate Facebook. I took a break from it a while back and it was glorious. I had so much more time to do more important things than scroll an endless feed of silly videos and ads. But I need it now to run our business. Plus, it is really good for keeping up with friends and family who I would otherwise lose touch with.

But it bothers me deeply that I still allow myself to get caught up in the comparison game on Facebook. Just yesterday I found myself creepin’ on someone’s page feeling bad about myself because I was jealous of what this person has accomplished.

stop it

It’s not healthy for me. Others have no problem with this and may think I’m weak minded. Even Josh finds it hard to understand. That’s fine. But I know myself and I know that I have a really bad habit of comparing myself to others. Comparison is the thief of joy (Theodore Roosevelt). And it needs to stop.

worry bout yourself

So as soon as I realized that I was wasting time on Facebook, I closed the tab and got back to what I was supposed to be doing…reading an article for class this weekend. And the first passage I came across was this:

“No leader sets out to be a leader. People set out to live their lives, expressing themselves fully. When that expression is of value, they become leaders. So the point is not to become a leader. The point is to become yourself, to use yourself completely-all of your skills, gifts, and energies-in order to make your vision manifest. You must withhold nothing. You must, in sum, become the person you started out to be, and to enjoy the process of becoming.” Warren Bennis, On Becoming a Leader

A little later on, Bennis said “The difference between desire and drive is the difference between expressing yourself and proving yourself.”

How easy it is to confuse the two…

gift
Leave a comment

