My decision to tell

Yup…it finally happened. I have a little life growing in my tummy. Josh and I have been together for over 13 years. And they have been wonderful. But we are super excited to finally add another member to this family of 4!

family

Since I had a bad experience last year with an ectopic pregnancy, I was really scared at first. I mean, what if something goes wrong again? What if this isn’t for real? I don’t want to get excited just to be let down. So at first, I decided that I wouldn’t tell anyone until I knew it was safe.

zipped lips

I made it a week.

I was just too excited. And, after experiencing the heartbreak of an ectopic pregnancy, I knew I would need people to help me if something did go wrong. I think about it like this, if I buy a new car, I don’t go around keeping it a secret just in case I wreck it in the first few weeks. So I decided to share the news of my pregnancy openly at 7 weeks.

Some may disagree with me. And that is fine. But for me, I decided the best choice was to tell.

In Daring Greatly, Brene Brown shares a story:

A man in his early sixties told me “I used to think that the best way to go through life was to expect the worst. That way, if it happened, you were prepared, and if it didn’t happen, you were pleasantly surprised. Then I was in a car accident and my wife was killed. Needless to say, expecting the worst didn’t prepare me at all. And worse, I still grieve for all of those wonderful moments we shared that I didn’t fully enjoy.”

This story has completely changed the way I look at the world around me. I am choosing to enjoy every moment I get in this life rather than let fear tarnish the experiences. And we’ve got some really great moments ahead…

ANNOUNCEMENT
Leave a comment

