Joy in charge

I had class this weekend. The last one of the semester!

happy dance

Class weekends are always rough because it’s just so much crammed in to one weekend. I wouldn’t be getting this degree if it wasn’t of interest, but it can be a lot to take in at once.

Yesterday, we were looking at some recent research and ideas related to leadership and education. I was introduced to a couple of things that relate to my struggles to change my thoughts. One of them was Neuro Leadership which is basically what it sounds like, brain-based leadership. Another idea we discussed was mindfulness and mental awareness and one of my classmates made a connection between proprioception and mindfulness.

So…what the heck is proprioception??

Proprioceptionthe sense of the orientation of one’s limbs in space

In other words, knowing where your body is and how to move it to do what you want it to do.

We are pretty good at this. Proprioception allows me to run without watching my feet the whole time.

So why are we not so good at controlling our minds?

Just this weekend, I had a rough morning on Saturday. I really wanted it to be a good day. Ya’ll know that I have been working on my mental ability to think positively most of the time.

positive thinking

But the day was trying really hard to suck. So on my lunch break, I immediately start thinking about all the delicious food I could get. Images of pizza, brownies, and pumpkin bread start running through my mind. Because, obviously, eating something would make the annoying day better.

thats ridiculous

I know it is, but I still think it.

Or how about when Josh is gone reffing football. I lay in bed with my eyes squeezed shut trying to sleep but all I can do is worry about him getting in a car accident on the way home.

Why does my mind do that?  I don’t tell it to think those things. They just pop in there. I hate the lack of control I feel over them.

But this is my life every day. A constant battle for joy to be in charge.

joy-sadness

How much unlocked power do we have when we can learn to control our thoughts? And not even that, but get to the point that we don’t have to consciously think about it anymore.

When I get up from my desk at work to walk down the hall to the bathroom, I don’t accidentally find myself in the cafeteria. I don’t have to think about how to get there, or how to make my legs move. I just go there. Naturally, without effort. Meanwhile, I’m thinking about other things because my body just knows how to go to the bathroom.

That’s the power I want to have over my mind. I want joy to be in charge most of the time so that I don’t have to waste so much of my time arguing back and forth in my head.

focus is reality

I’ve read and studied this quite a bit. I’m convinced it is not psychobabble. The underlying theme of all the books and research I’ve read is the power of the mind. People who are happy and successful in life have only one difference from everyone else.

They believed they could.

the mind

 

One comment

Leave a comment

