The back up plan

I don’t normally get on a soap box…but when I do, it’s about education…

A big part of my job at the university is advising undecided students. It can be really hard for an 18 year old to know what they want to do with their life. I’m 29 and I still don’t know where this life is taking me.

dumbledore

Anyway, I was advising a young girl yesterday who was debating between a few options. I was trying to help her work it out and during our conversation she said “well, teaching is my fall back plan, in case nursing doesn’t work out.”

anigif_enhanced-18061-1393453022-5

I just don’t like that. Teaching should not be a fall back plan. And this is not the first time someone has said this to me. It happens a lot.

At the risk of offending someone, I just don’t agree with it. Teaching is HARD. It takes a special type of person. I tried it for 3 months and couldn’t take it.

In other countries (with MUCH better education systems I might add), teachers are prestigious and elite. But it’s not that way in America. I wouldn’t say “oh, being a doctor is my fall back plan”. I don’t want a doctor that doesn’t have their whole heart in it.

kelso

Come to think of it, I don’t want to work with anyone who doesn’t have their whole heart in it, no matter the career.

But, I have been called a dreamer before.

purpose
Leave a comment

