An adventure

When the alarm went off on Sunday morning, I really, really just wanted to stay in bed. It felt so good to doze off and pretend like we had nowhere to go.

But we did have somewhere to go…A new church. Josh was still asleep and I was really tempted to just let him sleep. To pretend like I forgot to set the alarm…

But for some reason I had this feeling that we needed to be in church that day. I spent much of the previous evening talking to God about our new CrossFit Box. I was telling God all my fears and trying to explain all the reasons why I am afraid this is not a good idea. So on Sunday morning, I thought maybe I should give God a chance to respond.

And He did.

The sermon on Sunday was about adventure. Not a weekend trip to Las Vegas adventure. Real, meaningful adventure in our lives. The adventures that God calls us to.

As soon as the pastor started speaking, Josh and I couldn’t help but just smile at each other. We’ve been talking about opening this business since March. There are so many reasons why we shouldn’t do it. But things just keep falling in to place and it feels right. Including this sermon.

The pastor’s main point was this:

“There is no meaningful adventure without risk.” 

I mean…wow. Pretty loud and clear answer to all my doubts and fears.

I never thought about starting a business with Josh as an adventure. I only saw the risks and what I was afraid of. What could go wrong.  But with any adventure there is risk and failure. And it’s ok. There is also a lot of fun and there is no one else I’d rather go on an adventure with than Josh.

holding hands

The pastor also talked about this passage:

“Whoever can be trusted with very little can be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.” Luke 16:10

I’m not big on how the Baptist church likes to have people stand up or come to the front or whatever. I’m pretty private and I don’t like to stand out at all. So when the pastor asked anyone who felt called by God to stand, I immediately looked to Josh with fear in my eyes.

Because he knows me, he knows that my eyes were saying ‘please don’t make me stand up in front of all these people we don’t know, I just want to sit here’. And because he loves me he said “we’re standing.”

My eyes got big and started darting around the room. I whispered “I’m uncomfortable.”

He said “Whoever can be trusted with little can be trusted with much. Can you handle this little risk, Lindsay?”

thinks

And so we stood up in church.

dreamers

Our adventure begins…

 

3 comments

Leave a comment

