Mean girls

I don’t really plan this blog at all. I just wait for things to happen to me that I think others might be interested in hearing about. One of those things happened yesterday while I was leaving the on campus gym.

fortune-cookie
There is some kind of cheerleader camp going on here so there are girls running around everywhere. I happened to pass a group of about 4 of them in the stairwell. They looked about 17 years old, but then again, it’s really hard to tell these days.

As we passed each other, I couldn’t help but overhear their conversation. I physically cringed when I heard this:

“I don’t like her because every time I see her, her pants don’t fit and
I’m like ahhh! That hurts my eyes.”

what2

I’m a little hormonal right now so this affected me more deeply than it probably should have. But still. How is it ok to dislike a person based solely on their clothing? Dislike her because she lied to you, or she always flakes out plans, or she cheated off your homework. But even then, don’t go blabbing about her in a stairwell.

I have no idea who they were talking about but she is still a human, with a heart, hopes, and dreams. She has unique talents all her own and a family that loves her.

My mother taught me how to see this world this way. I told ya’ll that story back in 2013 and you can read it here if you want to.

I am ashamed to say that I just kept walking. My insides raged at that foolish girl. I had an opportunity but I missed it.

All the way home, I could not stop thinking about that comment. I thought about my little nephews and niece. They don’t care that I have a little extra on my body these days. They hug me anyway. They blow raspberries on my belly anyway. They fall asleep in my arms anyway.

 

live in a way
One comment

  1. LOVE this!!! Don’t feel bad about walking away. You serve as a voice of reason to so many more people on here!! You go Glen Coco!

Leave a comment

