Risky business

I’ve dreamed of owning my own business for as long as I can remember. But I have two problems:

1. I can’t narrow down what I want to do
2. I am afraid

I’m working on the fear thing. It’s a daily struggle to push fast fear but I’ve come a long way. School is helping a lot. The more I read, write, and learn, the more confident I become. But I just don’t feel ready to take the next step yet. The risk seems too great.

safe ship

Then Josh started talking to me about opening a CrossFit box. And something weird happened. I ran with it. I won’t say I’m not afraid, I am. But for some reason I have complete confidence that this will work. It is crazy considering how much money we already owe for our mortgage, hospital bills, and Josh’s school loans but…I don’t know…I just can’t explain why I don’t have all the doubts and fears that I have when I think about owning MY OWN business.

missed jump

I read about this in one of my books for school. It’s called Powering Up by Anne Doyle. She talks about how women tend to defer to their husbands. It’s just what we do. Women hold a lot of responsibility and guilt when it comes to family obligations. I have complete and total confidence that Josh has what it takes (with my help of course!) to run a successful CrossFit box.

So why do I worry so much about failure when it comes to my dreams? I am happiest when I am coaching leaders and repurposing furniture. That’s what I want to do. But I just don’t see how those two things can work together??

But I’m not the one who has to have this all figured out…my job is to trust.

 “The master in the art of living makes little distinction between his work and his play, his labor and his leisure, his mind and his body, his information and his recreation, his love and his religion. He hardly knows which is which. He simply pursues his vision of excellence at whatever he does, leaving others to decide whether he is working or playing. To him he’s always doing both.”-James Michener

 

 

3 comments

Leave a comment

