Show up

I used to hate CrossFit. I even wrote about how awful it was once. But I tried it again back in 2013 and have been sipping the kool-aid ever since. I’ve been working with a really great organization in town that offers free CrossFit-esque workouts since October. I really love it there but Josh and I have been talking about joining a box for a while.

So we did it. We joined a box. And sorry (I’m not sorry) I’m gonna talk about it.

crossfit-someecards

Today was my second day. I saw the workout online last night and was immediately scared.

10 minute AMRAP:
200m Run
Max Effort Pull-Ups
*score is total number of pull-ups

I’ve wanted to do a pull-up since 2013 but just haven’t done the work. As soon as I saw we’d be doing pull-ups today I immediately started crafting excuses in my head as to why I could not go:

I have a headache (an oldie but a goodie)
I’m too tired, I want to sleep in
I’m taking a rest day
Faking an injury

I even thought about just using the truth and telling Josh I would not be joining him because I did not like the workout.

shut up
Nope. That’s the old Lindsay. The one that ran away from any chance of failure or embarrassment. That Lindsay was not growing. I joined this box because I want to get better.

I want to get better at pullups, and power cleans, and double unders, yes. But more than that I want to be a better human. So I showed up to class. I let go of my need for perfection and decided  not to let the fear of failure hold me back today.

I told the coach I didn’t know how to do a pull-up, especially not a kipping one (which is what we were working on). This is hard for  me to do, admitting that I can’t do something. I held back tears because it was painful to let myself be vulnerable.

But he taught me. He didn’t laugh, make fun of me, or send me home because I was inept. He was patient. And guess what I can do now?

pull ups crossfit

Well not exactly like that…I can’t get my chin up over the bar but I did get my chin even with the bar….once. But that’s still way better than what I could before I showed up today.

And that’s what CrossFit is about. That’s why people fall in love with it. That’s why I’ve fallen in love with it.

failure

 

Similar to running a marathon, once you accomplish something hard like that it’s really difficult to come up with excuses when other things in life get hard.

“Every act of conscious learning requires the willingness to suffer an injury to one’s self-esteem. That is why young children, before they are aware of their own self-importance, learn so easily; and why older persons, especially if vain or important, cannot learn at all.” -Thomas Szasz

One comment

Leave a comment

