Freedom is waiting

parking fail

Have ya’ll seen the video of the poor Canadian woman who cannot seem to make her way out of the parking lot?? It’s painful…and yet all too familiar…

Earlier this week, I talked about letting go of inner struggles and I posted the lyrics to one of my favorite songs by Tenth Avenue North:

Come on, if you’re tired take a step outside
You might find you can forget about yourself tonight
Oh, come on, if you’re tired of failed attempts to try
Freedom’s waiting when you look outside

You know how you can hear a song over and over, but then one time it means something new? You hear a phrase or a word differently? That happened to me this morning.

I was just driving along and unsuccessfully singing along (I’ve had a killer sinus infection) and it was like I was slapped in the face with the words

freedom

It’s right there. Like that poor woman in the parking lot. Her escape route was right there but she just didn’t see it.

Back in 2012, I wrote a post called “Dog on a leash“. You’d think after this long I’d have gotten that dang leash untangled.

want it to stop

It seems counter intuitive. In order to better myself, I need to stop thinking about myself. I need to step outside, experience something new and let go of these old habits and rituals. Freedom is right there, all I have to do is choose it.

At dinner a few weeks ago, I was making fun of myself and all my anxieties. My dad looked at me, utterly baffled, and said “Just chill out!”.

okay

I’ll get right on that…

humility
One comment

Leave a comment

