Life in the fishbowl

So I saw the movie God’s Not Dead a while back. In it, a father tells his daughter that it’s hard to live in a world that you can’t participate in. Sometimes I feel like that. Like I’m in a fishbowl just watching the world outside happen around me. I’m in the world, but separated from it.

All around us are messages of indulgence, consumerism, narcissism, and apathy.

truth

 

I go to yahoo news and the streaming articles are about celebrities and viral videos instead of political issues or human rights. Commercials and advertising are the worst!

pizza_one bite

I don’t agree with this lifestyle. But it’s really hard to be the person that doesn’t participate.

Ok, it’s not that I don’t participate…maybe I just participate differently.

I deleted my Facebook months ago and I’d love to say that I don’t miss it one bit. But that’s a lie. I do miss staying in touch with my close friends and family. I miss seeing their pictures, sharing in excitements and encouraging through hard times.

What I don’t miss is the constant stream of advertisements, viral videos, and unsolicited suggestions.

be a patriot

I thought that deleting my Facebook account would cure me of my competitive issues.  It’s not so much that I am competitive, my problem is that I am severely critical of myself. Staying off Facebook has helped, but I still have a long way to go.

So my challenge now is to figure out how I’m going to navigate this. I have decided that I don’t agree with many of the values that our society portrays. Fine. But if I completely disengage myself, I will feel isolated and be viewed as odd. However, if I choose to participate, but in a different way, then I will feel somewhat less isolated but probably still be viewed as odd.

So here’s a solution…stop caring what other people think and be true to my heart.

everyone else
Leave a comment

