Knife in my chest

I hate it when this happens. I think I know what I’m talking about and then…I don’t.

Last week, Josh and I were watching one of our favorite shows ever, Parenthood. It’s probably really lame that we watch it together and discuss all the situations. It’s like those old kid movies that used to come with discussion questions for the family.

buttercream

You know what I’m talking about…

We like to judge the characters and talk about how much better we are going to be when we finally get ready to have kids. It’s a great way to pass the time.

Jennifer-Aniston-OH-REALLY-gif-nmbd

Anyway, in this particular episode the teenage daughter tells her father she hates him. He had just broken up her house party and was upset with her for lying to him. Of course, I’m like “oh…you have to let that roll off. She doesn’t mean it, she’s just a teenager”…you know all the typical stuff that a person who didn’t just experience that would have to say.

Episode ends, I go to sleep and go on about my life. Then, yesterday I got to be with my sweet little nephews. Ya’ll…I love them as though they were my own children. I spent a lot of time with the older one. He is 4. I played frisbee, hide and seek, and doctor. I took him to the bathroom and reminded him how to put the toilet seat down after he pees. I fixed his dinner plate, and made sure to sit by him at the table.  After he ate his veggies I made him an ice cream cone with a cherry on top to his exact specifications. I mean…the kid calls me his best friend.

But then it was time to leave. He didn’t want to. He starts acting fussy and instead of putting his shoe on his foot decides to hit Honey’s phone with it instead. So, I grab him up, set him on the chair and tell him that was an ugly thing to do. He needed to put his shoes on like a big boy and go tell Honey he was sorry for hitting her phone. (a totally normal punishment)

A few minutes later, he starts giving goodbye hugs and kisses around the room. That’s when it happened…

Honey: You better go give Aunt Linny hugs and kisses.

Nephew: No, I don’t want to.

Honey: What? Why?

Nephew: Because I don’t like her.

Entire Room: Mouths gaped open

Aunt Linny:

heart breaking

 

So…moral of this story is…no matter how many times you tell yourself that it is not going to hurt when your kids tell you that they don’t like you…I’m callin’ B.S. on that.

It hurts. Like knives to the chest.

The good news is, it didn’t last long. I did eventually get my hug.

training-kids-quote

 

Leave a comment

