Not for me to judge

I’m not a big flower girl. I didn’t even want to have real flowers at my wedding. I made bead bouquets and boutonnieres, which at the time was really weird. But now it’s all over pinterest as the new thing…

Anyway,  I prefer to receive gifts that will last longer than a few days. Even if I do get a real plant I usually kill it within a week. So Josh knows not to spend money on poor helpless plants.

im-the-plantsecutioner

Sometimes flowers are ok. Like when Josh was just walking around my mom’s garden and found a cute little flower that he decided to pick for me a few weeks ago. He brought it to me and I instantly loved the part sticking up out of the middle.

flower

It was just so interesting and lovely. I kind of wished that the girly pink and yellow flowers around the outside were gone and just the middle part would survive forever. But it was a hot day and the flower shriveled within hours.

That’s not the point of this story though. The point is when I told Josh that I loved the middle part he said “really? I don’t like that part. It looks like a weed. I was actually going to pick it off before I gave it to you.”

I’m so glad he didn’t pick the most beautiful part of this flower off. This was a very important message to me from above. Do not waste time hating parts of your body or even your personality. It could be someone else’s favorite.

Asleep & Dreaming by The Magnetic Fields

I’ve seen you laugh at nothing at all
I’ve seen you sadly weeping
The sweetest thing I ever saw
Was you asleep and dreaming

Well you may not be beautiful
But it’s not for me to judge
I don’t know if you’re beautiful
Because I love you too much

I’ve seen you laugh at nothing at all
I’ve seen you sadly weeping
The sweetest thing I ever saw
Was you asleep and dreaming

I’ve seen you when your ship came in
And when your train was leaving
The sweetest thing I ever saw
Was you asleep and dreaming

Leave a comment

