Letting go

Lately I have been completely overwhelmed with gratitude. If the biggest problem I have in my life is that I love food too much, I think I’m doing ok. But I still think it might be time for a little update on my health issues.

After a trip to the minor emergency, 2 visits to my primary care doc, a visit to the GI doc, and an EGD, we still don’t know exactly why my stomach feels like this after every time I eat

hit in stomach

All I know is that tests are negative for Celiac disease. But the pain is worse when I eat bread, pasta, or malt beverages. So I’m just gonna go ahead and stop eating those things.

If only it were that easy.

wheat addict

All the reading I’ve been doing about Celiac and gluten intolerance is startling. The above is from the book Wheat Belly  by William Davis, M.D. The research he presents shows that this disease is not going away. It is getting worse and it’s taking on a lot of variations. I think this might be why it’s taken so long for me to figure out what’s going on. I don’t get the “typical” symptoms. I haven’t lost a ton of weight and I don’t get cramps and diarrhea.

It feels like knives stabbing me all over my abdomen, chest, and back. My tummy bloats out. I get a stuffy nose and drainage. My eyes puff up. My head and neck hurt. Sometimes even my spine aches. I get really, really sleepy. Like trying to keep my eyes open during a professional business lunch while people are talking to me. Basically, just feeling really crappy. And it takes days to get over.

spongebob-tired

But, since I have eliminated wheat (as best I can, I am still learning all the hidden sources of gluten) I am slowly feeling better. Some things have disappeared altogether. And hey, it can always be worse, right?

atleast

My unhealthy relationship with food makes this harder for me. I am struggling with a feeling of loss, grief even. I can’t help but feel that I am giving up a part of my life and losing out on something.

But let’s think about this for a minute…what exactly am I losing? Foods that make me physically ill. Foods that poison my insides. Foods that make me so sick I can’t workout, or even go to work sometimes. Foods that make me more susceptible to cancer and other serious diseases.

Seems to me that I have everything to gain from getting rid of this awful, toxic food.

20140702_142147316_iOS

 

3 comments

  1. Good luck with your ordeal, I am trying as well to get healthier. Started walking a mile in the am and in the evening; also trying to eat earlier, I am bad about that

Leave a comment

