Why is there a pancake in the silverware drawer?

Josh and I absolutely love Scrubs! We own every season and we watch at least one episode every night before bed. We just start at season 1 and then work our way through until the end and start over. It’s obsessive. But we just love it. And we basically speak to each other in Scrubs quotes. There is a Scrubs quote for every single situation. Including the one I am about to share.

The other day I was walking out of the health club and I saw someone I kinda knew. I was in the middle of wiping sweat off my face when we passed each other but I still said “hey, how’s it goin?”. She just kinda smiled and “hey” and kept walking.

And since I just can’t help my little self, I immediately started internally chastising myself. That evil demon voice kicked in and went off on me for being so awkward and apparently unworthy of being remembered.

There I go again…

tumblr_m0a3e9ubqP1r8ob90

But I’m getting better at ignoring that witch inner voice. I thought…wait a minute…Why am I the one that’s embarrassed? What if the situation had been flipped?

pancake_silverware

 

If I had been the one who didn’t recognize someone who said hi to me, I still would have found a reason to put myself down about it. I just can’t win with that demon voice. So no….it’s not gonna happen. It was a minor event in my life. I said hi to a girl who didn’t recognize me in my workout clothes with a red sweaty face. Big freakin deal.

grace

 

I got this tattoo on my hand back in November. It’s in my mother’s handwriting and it reminds me of the lesson she taught me. To be graceful. To show grace to others. The problem is, I can’t seem to give myself any grace. This simply will not do. I can’t go through life constantly berating my every move. I’m just a girl trying to navigate this life. I make mistakes. Sometimes I skip a workout, or eat too much, or don’t return a text.

But I just keep reminding myself that it’s ok to not be perfect. In fact, we are all perfectly imperfect.

ryan hey girl

 

“I don’t like these cold, precise, perfect people who, in order not to speak wrong, never speak at all, and in order not to do wrong, never do anything.”-Henry Ward Beecher

One comment

Leave a comment

