Keepin it simple

I keep meaning to update this blog. I started it over a year ago with a purpose to share the experience of running a marathon. And it served that purpose very well. Then I moved to St. Louis for 3 months and I was able to share our adventures with friends and family. Now, I am struggling to decide if this blog still has a purpose. If I’m judging by the traffic statistics, its sole reason for existence is to share the beauty and wonder of Ryan Gosling and Channing Tatum. (I get a lot of hits from the memes I posted in the past).

Anyway, purpose and goal setting are the topics of the day. Every year of my adult life I have set new years resolutions or goals. Floss more always ends up on the list and it seemed like lose weight was always on there too. I never did set any goals last year. I tried. I mean, I sat down several times and tried to make a list but I just couldn’t bring myself to set any goals when I had no idea what was going to happen to me. (It’s this perfection complex I have, don’t know if anyone has picked up on it…)

routine

And I’m just gonna say that 2013 was not my best year. But that’s okay because really, who can have a great year every single year? I mean, it would get exhausting. Just like bad runs, you have to have bad years in order to really appreciate the good ones. So goodbye 2013. You sucked. And I’m okay with it. I learned a lot in the past 12 months of transition.

If my 2013 could be summed up in one image I think it would be this one:

h1Sd3sf
Except that instead of waiting for a few seconds to hear the answer, I was waiting a few months, but hey the point is made.

And going in to the next year (Josh and I both with new jobs, buying a new house, potentially entering a doctoral program) there is even more transition on the horizon. And while I certainly hope to see an improvement in my running pace, finish a couple pinterest projects in the new house, and maybe eat a few more vegetables, I am going to keep it simple in 2014.

This year my goal is to ease up on the perfection complex and allow myself to be happy.

(And if anyone thinks this goal is a super easy cop out you should spend one day inside my head.)

Bring it on 2014!

regrets

One comment

Leave a comment

