Isn’t it ironic

Mary Kay’s rules are this:

1. God
2. Family
3. Career

Obviously, family comes before career…But what about when you need to sacrifice your family to advance your career in order to take care of your family? My life doesn’t even make sense right now!

quote-Marilyn-Monroe-a-career-is-wonderful-but-you-cant-88386

The main reason I chose to go to St. Louis with Josh was because I couldn’t imagine spending 3 months living 900 miles away from each other. In our 10 years together, we had spent a lot of time living apart and I was just so tired of it. I just wanted to be a normal couple that comes home to the same address at night, I mean, is that too much to ask?!

So the irony of our current situation is killing me right now.

irony

I accepted a job offer in a city 100 miles away, which is wonderful. Better title, more responsibility, higher pay…I’d be a fool to say no. I am certain that our future family is better off by me taking this opportunity.

What’s making this so hard is that Josh is under contract at his job. He told his boss on Monday that I accepted a position in our hometown. I am so proud of him because they are trying really hard to keep him. He is a great physical therapist and they don’t want to lose him. I can’t go in to the whole story here because no one has that kind of time but let’s just suffice it to say

escalated

There were some kinks thrown our way. We spent a good 3 hours last night going over all the options. And somebody gets screwed in all of them. There was just no ‘good’ option. So we decided that Josh will stay here for a little while.

sad1

Not even my sad Agnes eyes could convince him to just pick up and go with me. My selfishness wants him to just love me so much that he says “contracts be damned, I’ll follow you anywhere”.

But that’s my fantasy world interfering with reality.  He has a reputation to protect and since I share his  last name…I have to protect it too. There are other people involved, so we both know that he can’t just drop everything. Not unless there was an even better opportunity for him, one in which no one would blame him for taking it. And at this point, we aren’t sure of that.

So here we are…in the exact situation we were trying to avoid at this time last year. But I know it’s for the best. As much as I hate to admit it.

hard thing

3 comments

  1. Awwww…I’m sorry! That’s an awful situation.
    It always brings me surprise and dismay when people’s love for me doesn’t completely over-rule everything else. I know that other things sometimes make more sense, but I always feel secretly slighted.

Leave a comment

