Stop comparing, start living

Lately I’ve been reading some books and articles about people who have had near death experiences. This phenomenon has always fascinated me and I wanted to find out more. What I’ve learned is that everyone’s experience is different. But, there is one thing that is always present…people who die and come back to life are never the same again.

They have  a completely different sense of what is important in life. And it’s not money, fame, body image, or any of the vapid and materialistic things that this society finds important.

Every problem that I have stems down to the fact that I am constantly comparing myself to others. I know this. I have known this. And if anyone knows how to stop doing this, other than die and come back to life, PLEASE do share with me.

This quote on pinterest yesterday got me really thinking about this problem

highlight reel

It’s so true! And it’s worse than ever with all the social media outlets available to us now. There is a lot of information coming out about the effect that looking at facebook, instagram, and twitter have on our self esteem. Add this to the changing expectations of the twenty-something generation (see this blog shared with me by a friend) and we’ve got a big ol’ package of perpetual confusion and disappointment.

One of the blogs I follow is by a very wise man named Dr. Tim Elmore. He is the founder of a company called Growing Leaders. Today’s post was by a new professional in their office, Ashley, who recently graduated from college. (You can find the full post HERE. Definitely worth a few minutes if you are interested in this kind of thing.) Ashley was a successful college gymnast and writes about her transition from that to the workplace. A comment she makes really stood out to me:

“…the mentors in my life who remind me it took 23 years to reach the top tier of college athletics, and trusting it will take more than 6 months to reach that point in the workforce. A wise friend once told me, “It’s a Marathon, Not a Sprint”.

I really needed to hear this! I have got to stop looking around at other people and worry about myself. It’s my own race and it’s a marathon, not a sprint.

f30f0affc157d7562c8cfd07c95876c0

In running, I find inspiration in competition. But in life, I find dissatisfaction. While some amount of this is good, it’s what keeps us getting out of bed and being productive rather than downing margaritas all the time. I need balance. It doesn’t matter where someone else is in their own race because it’s theirs. It has nothing to do with me.

The best thing I can do for myself is focus on what’s important: Josh, my family, my spirit, whether or not I am a good person. These things bring me joy and peace.

1ca2a3a6a1f72f23cac7c3fe59185d0a

I will stop wasting my precious days away worrying about money and whether or not I am as successful as I should be. Who cares? As long as I am a good, loving person…all will be fine.

“Death is more universal than life; everyone dies but not everyone lives.” – A. Sachs

4 comments

Leave a comment

