Oh yeah

I finally did it! After 5 years and 100,000 miles I finally own my car!

OhYeahDespicableMe

Somewhere I have a picture of me on the day I bought my Nissan Altima, April 19 2008. I was so happy that day! And also terrified of the commitment I just made. I looked everywhere and I can’t find that picture! How sad…but I did find a picture of me standing by my car with a smile so it’ll have to work for the purposes of this blog.

photo (2)

I was so excited when I drove that car off the lot. I never had a cd player in my car before! I was still using a cassette adapter for my little portable cd player. Yeah…

It was a big decision to figure what cd to play first. I decided on Cake and headed out for the first drive in my car. That altima had 36 miles on it when I drove it off the lot that day and most of those were from me test driving it.

Last month I crossed the 100,000 mile mark.

carIf you’re thinking that’s a lot of miles in 5 years, you’re right. It’s roughly double the average number of miles that a normal person would put on their car each year. But that is exactly why I insisted on buying brand new. Well other than the fact that I had worked and saved practically my entire life, I felt like I deserved this one thing. But I also wanted a reliable mode of transportation. Josh and I go all over the state of Texas and sometimes out of Texas. I’m a busy girl and I can’t be bothered with things like failing transmissions, broken belts, or annoying rattling noises!

My car took me to Oklahoma for a Jewel concert, to New Orleans to meet Josh after a flag football tournament he was officiating, to countless races in the DFW area last summer and all the way to St. Louis and back. Not to mention a hundred other weekend trips to state parks, weddings, schlitterbahn, concerts, and to see my sweet nephews.

my car

I love my car! But you know what I love even more? The fact that I will never receive another bill in the mail from Nissan Finance….The sweet satisfaction of accomplishment.

You know what’s even better than that?? The fact that I will also no longer be receiving any bills in the mail from my student loan company. Yep, I paid that one off too.

after good run

So I’m just gonna bask in that satisfaction for a few days until we start getting bills in the mail for Josh’s education…

toon349

“Broke is a temporary condition, poor is a state of mind.” -Sir Richard Francis Burton

One comment

Leave a comment

