Workin’ 9 to 5

a84e70b3c0c2eec5f648ca1c899ec1e4

I made it through the first week of my new job! This was so much better than any other first week I’ve had this year! I am much more in my element in this position. I get to use my organizational skills and my creativity. It’s super laid back and quiet. But it’s only the first week and it’s the slow season so I have a feeling some of that will change. But regardless, I already feel at home.

When I was subbing and waiting tables, I got sick to my stomach on my way to work every single shift. Especially waiting tables…there are so many ways to screw up in that job. I was terrified of dropping a tray, slipping on a lemon in the kitchen, losing cash, mixing up a ticket, ordering the wrong food, delivering the wrong food, pissing off the cooks or the dishwashers, forgetting to bring the ranch/tabasco/A-1 sauce/lemons/bread/whatever the heck they asked for. It was scary!

But this job is very similar to what I was doing at the university. It’s weird because even though I am 15 minutes across town from the school in an entirely different building doing a completely unrelated job, I still find myself reaching for things where they used to be in my old office. Or glancing at the phone every time it rings because I used to have caller ID on my other office phone. I left that job last December but it’s like I was never “not-working”.  I’m not sure how I feel about that…

But want to know the absolute BEST part about my week? I arrived at 9 and left at 5 every single day. Say whaaa?!?!

Yep. That’s right people. I don’t even know what to do with myself now that the days of 40+ hours a week are gone.

1300798402843_2162968

yup…pretty much sums up my old life

I am perfectly happy with 35 hours a week. It gives me plenty of time to exercise and run my Mary Kay business.

Yay for open windows.

“Most of us are about as eager to be changed as we were to be born, and go through our changes in a similar state of shock.”-James Baldwin

Leave a comment

