Be gentle

Whew…we are home! And it’s hot in Texas ya’ll!! But I am not complaining, I have been enjoying seeing the sun every day. The days have just been flying by since we got home. And I have eased up on a few of my rules. And by a few I mean mostly all of them. I have been eating a lot, drinking coke, and hardly exercising. But with so much going on around me, my focus is a little off.

And I paid for it last week. I finally decided to go out for a good long run. I planned to do 7 miles. Stuff came up that day, so I wasn’t able to get to the run until late afternoon. Not ideal because the temperature was in the 80’s and I am NOT used to running in that heat right now. I mean, I was averaging 40 degrees below that in St. Louis. But, I just couldn’t take another excuse so I slathered on the sunscreen and headed out anyway.

Thus ensued the worst run of this year. I just felt like a huge balloon was expanding in my tummy. All the bad decisions I had made up to that point were swelling up and causing a lot of pain and discomfort. I had to stop to walk a lot. Plus I was super sweaty and hot. It was just awful.

And the only thing I could think of during this whole run was the movie Liar Liar. Anyone remember the scene when Fletcher gets pulled over?

Cop: You know why I pulled you over ?

Fletcher: Depends on how long you were following me !

Cop: Why don’t we take it from the top ?

Fletcher: Here goes.

I sped, I followed too closely, I ran a stop sign, I almost hit a Chevy, I sped some more, I failed to yield, I changed lanes without signaling while speeding !

Cop: Is that all ?

Fletcher: No. I have unpaid parking tickets…………..Be Gentle



liar-liar-cop

While I was running I just couldn’t stop thinking about all the soda, processed cheese, sausage, ice cream, cake, and generally just bad for you foods I consumed over the past week. And this run was my punishment. I just wanted to quit and go home. Call Josh to come get me and lay on the floor under the fan. But I didn’t do that. Because I just knew I had to run it out. I had to work it all out of my system, whether that’s what was actually happening or not I don’t know, but I felt soooo much better when I got done. I only made it 6 of the 7 miles but I felt pretty good about that considering the circumstances…


I wasn’t too pleased with my time (I’ve been averaging 9 minute miles) I went 6 miles in a little over an hour which is not a good pace for me right now. But sometimes, it is just a great accomplishment to be out there moving your body.


And the next day I was feeling a hundred times better! I was able to meet my friends for an 80’s themed 5k and run without a single cramp!

Man I have really missed these girls!

Man I have really missed these girls!

As torturous as those 6 miles were, I really need a bad run every once in a while. To remind me why I make the choices I do. I miss junk food. Sometimes, a lot more than others. But I do not miss how running used to be, back before I changed my eating. No wonder running used to suck so bad, it was because I didn’t know how to properly fuel my body. And now I do and the next time I am faced with a choice between grilled chicken or grilled cheese I will remember this experience.

“There is no person so severely punished, as those who subject themselves to the whip of their own remorse.”-Seneca the Elder

2 comments

Leave a comment

