Hello April

Our last days in St. Louis have finally arrived and just as I predicted, it is bitter sweet.

But no time to dwell on it now because much like my lovely blogger friend Sara, I have packed a lot in to the next few days:
Packing up (again) and getting ready to head back to Texas
The Go St. Louis half marathon
A long overdue visit to some family nearby
And a grand finale of driving the 12 hours back to Texas all in one day

I am trying not to let the excitement of going home overshadow the excitement I have for the race though. I debated for several weeks about whether to do it or not. I knew I would be anxious to go straight home but I also don’t get the opportunity to travel to big city races very often.

I am also trying not to worry about the fact that I have a minor sinus infection this week which means that my taper week was actually more like halt week. I am just hoping the rest ends up benefiting me on race day. I have a goal to break the 2 hour mark. I ran my last half back in September in 2:10. So if I work really hard I can accomplish this but a sore throat isn’t going help me.

We’ll see what happens.

But in the meantime…

th

 …if I don’t hit the goal this time it just gives me good reason to sign up for another one!

And really, who could be upset when they are headed home to hold these little cuties?

cuties

“We should come home from adventures, and perils, and discoveries every day with new experience and character.”-Henry David Thoreau

Leave a comment

