That time I was too lazy to do a long run and did the hardest workout of my life instead…

With everything going on, I kinda forgot to mention that I am training to run the Go St. Louis half marathon on April 6th. Yay! And things were going really well, I was right on track…but then it snowed…a lot.

IMG_1285

As you can see from my Dailymile report, I was averaging almost 20 miles a week. I was pretty satisfied with that since I am focusing on cross training.

dailymile

But right around week 8, I just got sick of the cold. We had a snow storm, then it snowed every other day or so and the wind was blowing 20 or more miles an hour. I just wasn’t having it. So I moved my workouts inside and my mileage went down. But last weekend I planned to do a 10 mile long run. When I woke up on Saturday morning I saw snow flurries out my window and my reaction was an immediate

nah

photo from aetv.com

a phrase which Josh and I have been severely overusing as of late due to our Duck Dynasty fever. So I started looking up crossfit workouts. And this is what I came up with

running with angieThis should be pretty simple, right? I have done just plain old Angie before and it wasn’t too bad so I’ll just add in running and we’ll be golden…I even decided to go ahead and make it 8 miles by running to the gym (which is 4 miles) for a warm up.

yeah…no…

I cannot do 100 pullups in a row (which I use the assistance machine btw) so I broke this down even more. So I did 50 pullups, run 1/2 mile, etc. until I completed all the reps and miles. By the time I got about 3/4 of the way through my legs were jello and I was really afraid of having a mortifying treadmill moment (see exhibit a below)

tumblr_mhsitrxkyF1ql2603o1_250

This workout turned out to be way harder than just running the 10 miles in the cold. But I set a goal, and I hate quitting. So I finished the workout. It took me 1 hour and 14 minutes and I burned 1200 calories total.

Which I promptly replaced that night out celebrating my birthday…

421411_788472168832_1109790669_n

“Difficulties are things that show a person what they are.”-Epictetus

2 comments

Leave a comment

