The body peace treaty

f235d7e68a6b312be645ef4628706ae3

I came across this photo on pinterest the other day. The image links to a random tumblr account but the caption to the photo said this:

“Do this routine before every shower: 50 jumping jacks, 5 pushups, 20 crunches, 20 mountain climbers, and 30 second plank.”

I see this on pinterest all the time! A photo of a rock hard woman associated with a quick daily workout. Sorry ladies, but I seriously doubt that any woman whose body looks like that got that way by “doing this one simple trick” or workout. In fact, I think it was probably even quicker than that…PHOTOSHOP.

I also saw this on pinterest

3532d3d45b2ce0021c762578ee41a157

The one that catches my eye the most is the advertising section: Each year the average adolescent sees over 5, 260 advertisements mentioning attractiveness. That’s almost 15 a day or one for every waking hour. WTF?

This is a PROBLEM! And I am guilty too. I have to work every single day to remember that the ads and images I see all day are trying to sell me something. They are not a measuring stick for what I should look like. I have pictures of rock hard bodies on my pinterest board. And I have to stop and wonder: am I creating inspiration to stay fit or am I hurting myself by setting unreachable standards? Probably a topic I will return to in another blog but in the meantime, I really like the Body Peace Treaty that Seventeen Magazine has created which is posted below:

I VOW TO:

  • Do the little things that will keep my body healthy, like walking instead of hanging on the couch, or drinking water rather than something sugary.
  • Appreciate what makes my body different from anyone else’s. I love that I’m unique on the inside, I will try to feel that way about the outside too!
  • Wear makeup only when I want to and it feels fun. I won’t use it to hide the real me!
  • Accept that my body will go through changes, and that’s okay.
  • Support my friends, who just like me, have their own body issues. Hey, we’re all in this together!
  • Put my energy toward the things in life I care about instead of wasting another ounce of it on my insecurities.
  • Remember that the sun will still rise tomorrow even if I had one too many slices of pizza or an extra scoop of ice cream tonight.
  • Never blame my body for the bad day I’m having.
  • Stop joining in when my friends compare and trash their own bodies.
  • Never allow a dirty look from someone else to influence how I feel about my appearance.
  • Quit judging a person solely by how his or her body looks — even if it seems harmless — because I’d never want anyone to do that to me.
  • Notice all the amazing things my body is doing for me every moment I walk, talk, think, breathe…
  • Quiet that negative little voice in my head when it starts to say mean things about my body that I’d never tolerate anyone else saying about me.
  • Remind myself that what you see isn’t always what you get on TV and in ads — it takes a lot of airbrushing, dieting, money, and work to look like that.
  • Remember that even the girl who I’d swap bodies with in a minute has something about her looks that she hates.
  • Respect my body by feeding it well, working up a sweat when it needs it, and knowing when to give it a break.
  • Realize that the mirror can reflect only what’s on the surface of me, not who I am inside.
  • Know that I’m already beautiful just the way I am.
  • Not let my size define me. It’s far better to focus on how awesome I look in my jeans than the number on the tag.
  • Surround myself with positive people. True friends are there to lift me up when I’m feeling low and won’t bring me down with criticism, body bashing, or gossip.
  • Accept the changes that my body is going through. I will celebrate my new shape and curves. I will rock what I’ve got!
  • Remember that sometimes I will have down moments. And in those times, I will remind myself of how awesome I am by looking in the mirror and saying, “I’m good! I can do this! I’m number one!”
  • Accept that beauty isn’t just about my looks. It’s my awesome personality and my energy that creates a whole, unique package.

love your body

4 comments

  1. This is a fantastic post! I’m such an advocate for positive body images and loving yourself for who you are. For so long I was comparing myself to what I saw on TV and what I thought I was supposed to look like… I ended up suffering from an eating disorder for over 5 years. Finally two years ago, I was in a happier place. I’m still not 100% back to normal, but I am more focused on doing what is right for my body and giving it what it needs…. a healthy lifestyle and getting the right amount of exercise is more important to me than how I look in a dress or in a photo.

    Loving the vows! Keep on inspiring!

Leave a comment

