I miss texas

We’ve been here 6 weeks and I’m over it. I’ve had fun trying new things and figuring out city life but now I am just homesick. There are so many things I miss about Texas. And since you know I am a list maker here we go…in no particular order…

  • My family and friends
  • Our dogs (yes I do actually miss them)
  • 70 degree weather in “winter”
  • My craft desk
  • Whataburger
  • Grinner’s Daiquiri bar
  • My office
  • Having a washer and dryer in my house
  • Free parking everywhere
  • That smoothie I used to get in the University Center
  • Our little house
  • Hastings 5 day movie rentals
  • Eskimo Hut
  • Not waiting in line for hours to eat at a bar-b-que restaurant (I mean really…it’s marginal at best here, I can get it fast and DELICIOUS in Texas)
  • Blue-Bell ice cream
  • My bed
  • 2 steppin
  • Sunshine
  • Cheddars
  • Driving anywhere in town in 15 minutes or less
  • The students I worked with
  • My gym
  • Double Dave’s pizza
  • Sleeping at night
  • Having enough hot water for a shower lasting longer than 5 minutes

texas

“Texas is not a state — it’s a state of mind.”-John Steinbeck

3 comments

  1. Well, speaking as someone who moved 350 mi north from ‘home’ and 30 minutes from anywhere, I too was homesick for the better part of my first year :/ I still miss certain things, but it has gotten easier. Plus I only have a few more months and then I get to move back (temporarily) until I find a new place to start my life after grad school. Hang in there!

  2. As someone who moved to Texas from Missouri (KC), I was shocked at how much I like it here – especially in winter. Even when it’s “cold” here, the sun is usually still shining.

    Cheddar’s and 2 steppin are not on my list of things I love about Texas though!

Leave a comment

