Drinkin’ the kool-aid

My first experience with Cross fit was awful. I pushed myself way too hard and was so sore I could barely move for days afterward. However, I set a goal to spend the winter months focusing on building strength and flexibility.  And it has been a process.

I have just never enjoyed strength training. I find it boring (which is hilarious coming from someone who likes to go out and just run for an hour) . I usually would just do the bare minimum with some dumbbells in a back corner of the gym and get out as fast as I could. I hate waiting on machines and going from here to there all over the gym (which is what Crossfit often makes you do).

BUT, I like having muscles. So I find myself in a predicament! So, since we’ve been in St. Louis, I have been working with Josh 2-3 times a week to build more strength and muscle. The first few weeks were…not exactly fun…Let’s just say I don’t get quite the endorphin high (thus good mood) from a strength workout that I do from a good run…

But, in the weeks since that first workout with Josh, I have actually come to almost  enjoy strength training. I have been experimenting with Crossfit and I really like it. It’s a new challenge and I am already seeing results, which helps a lot.

l_d5ba81c0-c0de-11e1-b4a4-811ec0e00007

Now instead of dreading every workout and feeling discouraged when I am not as good as I expect myself to be, I look forward to going  and working toward new goals.

I am hoping to eventually do 1 unassisted pull up. I have no idea how long this will take me but I have tentatively set a date for the end of this year.

306cae70adf9d70e6e19db1d6d49810c

Anything looks good on you Ryan Gosling…

“A dream doesn’t become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination and hard work.” -Colin Powell

3 comments

  1. Isn’t it funny how much we will put ourselves through once we see some results? I HATE working out. Sadly, it’s just true. But I LOOOOOOOOOOVE results, so onward and upward!
    An unassisted pull-up is amazing! YOU CAN DO IT!

Leave a comment

