St. Louis Week 1

Yesterday was my first day in the city on my own without Josh. He went to his first day at the hospital and I had some errands to run. You know, Discount Shoe Warehouse, the mall, and also a job interview. It turned out to be a very frustrating day. I was honked at no less than twice, almost hit a pedestrian, illegally turned right on red, completed 3 illegal u-turns, paid $2 in a parking meter I didn’t end up needing and was turned down for the job.

At the risk of portraying myself as extremely uncultured, which is probably true, I just don’t know $%&* about city life. I envisioned my day yesterday as a day for me. I was going to go shopping with my Christmas money, drink a Starbucks, have a leisurely lunch before my interview and it just didn’t go how I saw it in my head. Because what I saw in my head was what I would have experienced in a smaller town. One that has free parking outside every single place you go and you can get from one side of the city to the other in 20 minutes.

I was terrified yesterday when I got to the address of the interview and realized I was in the downtown section of Clayton. There was metered parallel parking everywhere and I just kept circling around trying to find a street that had several empty spots so I could pull in and not have to actually parallel park. If I had been on a reality television show, I’m sure everyone in the world would have been scoffing and judging me. I was lucky and found several open spots a couple blocks from the interview. But I am going to have to learn this skill fast! I know it’s probably super easy, I mean I watched a woman whip her ranger rover in a spot in 10 seconds flat yesterday. It’s just the last time I parallel parked was a decade ago for my drivers test. I thought I’d never need that skill.

BUT I never say never anymore so let the city driving lessons commence!

We did manage to make a little progress on the St. Louis list last week!

We enjoyed a 360 degree view of downtown St. Louis and a delectable Sunday brunch including mimosas in the rotating Top of the River Restaurant inside the Millenium Hotel.

We enjoyed a 360 degree view of downtown St. Louis and a delectable Sunday brunch including mimosas in the rotating Top of the River Restaurant inside the Millenium Hotel.

We rode to the top of the Gateway Arch.

We rode to the top of the Gateway Arch.

And we celebrated Josh's birthday at the downtown location of Joe Buck's Barbeque and finished it with some gooey buttercake (which I forgot to take a picture of!)

And we celebrated Josh’s birthday at the downtown location of Joe Buck’s Barbeque and finished it with some gooey buttercake (which I forgot to take a picture of!)

“A careful driver is one who honks his horn when he goes through a red light.”-Henry Morgan

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. I live in a newer section of our city, so I’ve always had parking lots. Anytime I have to go downtown, I have a mild panic attack because I cannot parallel park, and I never prepare to pay meter fees. Glad you made it out ok!

  2. Glad you’re settling in! City driving rule #1, honk back. If walking yell, “Hey I’m walking here!” and throw your hands up in disgust. You will survive. Top of the River has excellent martinis and nothing is better than gooey butter cake. Enjoy!

  3. Change is hard, but I’m glad you’re making the most of it. Just think of it this way when the going gets tough: It’s just temporary; you know there’ll be a light at the end of the tunnel! I can’t remember the last time I parallel parked in the city, even though it’s common unless you park in a garage. My husband always drives, or I just take the train into the city. Less stress. =)

  4. Sometimes adventures in new places don’t always go as planned…one time I got a parking ticket for street sweeping because I didn’t know the area and didn’t read the signs along the street…Also, I grew up in an urban area, but not a downtown area (all those places scare me for those reasons you mentioned before) and I also am not very good or inclined to parallel park…doesnt help I’m in an SUV and feel like a boat! I’m sure it will get better with time 🙂

  5. Welcome to St. Louis! Having grown up here, lived in other large cities, and moved back, I appreciate it even more. And, yes, always keep quarters on you, especially in Clayton and CWE!:)

Leave a comment

