Well that explains a lot

So I enjoyed the heck out of my calzone last night…the bloating afterwards…not so much.

And I haven’t been feeling too good overall lately. I’ve regressed a little bit with my body image issues. Marathon training taught me a lot about what kind of food to eat in order to fuel my body properly.And most importantly, it gave me a reason to choose the right foods. No one wants to suffer through 12 or 14 miles with side cramps caused by eating greasy pizza the night before.

But with moving and holiday parties I’ve been breaking a lot of rules. So I end up exercising just to do damage control, not because I enjoy it. And the workouts suck because I  have cramps or no energy. I feel like a hamster in a wheel but it may just be that time of year.

I have known for a while that I have a little bit of body dysmorphic disorder. What I see in the mirror has nothing to do with what’s actually there and everything to do with my mood and confidence at the moment.

So I did a little experiment last night.  When I got home from my workout and before I started eating I measured my belly. It was 35.5 inches. After I finished eating, I measured it again. It was 36.5 inches. It grew a whole inch!!

Now, obviously I didn’t gain weight from one meal. But it definitely shows how bloated I can get from eating too much of the wrong kind of food. That could be the difference between my “fat” pants and my “skinny” pants!

And then I decided to take this experiment a step further. I went to my weight loss folder where I’ve been tracking my inches. The last time my belly measured 36.5 inches, I weighed 165 pounds…10-12 pounds more than I weigh now!!

So after I eat a little too much and I feel like I’ve gained 10 pounds, that is why! Because my body expands and it gives the illusion of gaining weight.

So what did I learn? Well, first off…don’t gorge on a calzone the size of my head. But I also learned (YET AGAIN) that it’s not all about the numbers. The numbers can mislead you.

It’s about how I feel. It’s about eating foods that are healthy and provide my body with the right nutrients. And it’s okay to indulge every once in a while…

Great-Inspirational-Quotes-Part-2_2

3 comments

  1. When I go to bed, I put my hands on my belly right under my ribs and press down. Usually I can feel the gasses built up in there if I’ve been less diligent with eating well! Not a fun feeling!

Leave a comment

