Buzzkill

balloon pop1balloon pop2Anyone remember this lovely scene in Despicable Me? (A super cute movie by the way…)

Yeah, that pretty much happened to me today…With a figurative balloon of course.

Earlier this year, I was pretty stoked to buy a pair of jeans from Maurice’s that were a size 7/8. I have never worn a pair of pants that size in my life! But lately, that pair of jeans has been feeling a little loose. I don’t know how much I weigh because we packed the wii a long time ago (which is what I have been using to track my weight loss). I lost a couple pounds after the marathon, but I have been feeling kind of bloated lately so I figured I gained them back.

So, I was feeling curious on my lunch break today and I drove over to Maurice’s. I picked up a pair of size 5/6 pants and almost threw them back at the shelf and ran out. It just felt so wrong. I just knew I wouldn’t be able to get them over my thighs. But I figured what the hell and took them to the dressing room.

And they fit…PERFECTLY!

ace

What 90’s kid doesn’t say “like a glove” when something fits perfectly?

I was just so surprised. I stood there for what felt like a long time just thinking about all the times I stood in that exact fitting room trying on size 20 or 22 pants. I felt so proud and happy and grateful for everything I have been through to get to this point.

Then, I pulled myself together and decided to walk back out to the display to see if they had any regular length jeans. The saleswoman was there trying to help another lady pick out some jeans and I overheard her explain how the light wash style (the style I just tried on) fits kind of big. She said “Yeah, I always have to get a size smaller in those jeans because they just run big for some reason”.

ka-pow-i14

And there was the balloon pop. But I am not going to let this ruin my day. I bought the jeans, and screw it because the number doesn’t matter anyway.

Posted @ QUOTEZ.CO

4 comments

  1. Aww!! Still exciting!! I bought two size 6 pants (I’ve been an 8 for the last year or 2) from Express for work back in July when I was running a ton and a bit thinner and now they are snug 😦 its compelling me to run more! Funny how pants can do that!

Leave a comment

