When $*!@ gets real

I haven’t talked much about this because honestly, there were too many unknowns but $*!@ got real this week! Josh’s last clinical for physical therapy will be in St. Louis Missouri. We will be moving there for 3 months starting in January.

I should be ecstatic right? This is an amazing opportunity to experience something I wouldn’t otherwise. But my response to Josh when he first texted me was “I’m not excited about St. Louis”. And I wasn’t. I really had my heart set on the Massachusetts, New York or New Hampshire area. But it just didn’t work out.

Josh’s response to me:

And it got me thinking about my post on trying to control everything. When I think back to things that I have started out hating, I have ended up loving them (or at least understanding why things happened the way they did).

A perfect example is our current house. I did NOT want to move. When I first walked in, I was overwhelmed with disappointment because it was not what I thought I wanted. But I love our house now. Many of the things I thought I would hate, I don’t mind. Especially now, having just submitted the application for a 500 square foot apartment in St. Louis, I don’t want to leave! Here is a picture of where we will be living for 3 months:

Yeah, it’s a studio so our bedroom is our living room and our dining room.

But I have decided to choose my attitude. I have chosen to stay in theme with my blog which is called “Never Say Never”. Can’t go breaking my own rules can I? I think this quote sums it all up perfectly!

6 comments

  1. Do you at least get to move back after the 3 months are over? I’ve never been to St. Louis, but I haven’t heard a lot of bad things about it! (through truthfully, it wouldn’t be the first place I’d think of moving to).

    Good luck with the move!

Leave a comment

