Marathon playlist

I’ve started organizing my music and working on a playlist for the big day! Which is just under 3 weeks away (what?!)

I have been thinking about motivation and I am trying to put together an awesome marathon playlist. Last week I had an idea pop in my head. I was debating if I wanted to listen to music the whole time or try a book, etc. And I decided that I would record myself saying some of my favorite motivational quotes and then plug them into the playlist periodically. I asked Josh to do the same. He recorded 2 messages to me, one is especially for the end of the race (around mile 24 when I am sure I will want to die). I won’t listen to Josh’s messages until they play in my ears on race day.

I think it will be awesome motivation because I can’t guarantee I will be able to see him during the race.

Below are the a few of the quotes that mean something to me so I recorded myself reciting them:

“Just run. Pain is nothing compared to what it feels like to quit.”

“At mile 26 I realized I had become too tough to kill.”

“Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others go out and make it happen.”

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional”

“Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.”

Now I just have to finish arranging the messages and the songs to create the perfect playlist! I will be sure to share it when it’s done.

I could save myself the time and effort if only this were true:

9 comments

Leave a comment

