Don’t look down

You know how the first thing anyone says when you are doing something that involves being up really high is “don’t look down”? If you look down, you will see how high up you are and realize how crazy whatever it is you’re doing is.

Well long distance running is pretty much the same. You can’t think about how  much further you have to go or else you’ll realize how ridiculous it is. Telling yourself “only 10 more miles to go” isn’t helpful at all. In fact, it is the opposite of helpful. I just don’t even think about it until I have less than 3 miles to go. That is a distance my mind can comprehend.

As I am sure I have mentioned before, marathon training is all about training the mind. This is a quote I repeat to myself whenever I start to struggle during a long run:

Though it was difficult, I was literally high on Friday after my 18 mile run. No knee pain!! I felt awesome. It was a little tender that night after I spent the rest of the day chasing my nephews around but they are so worth it.

I am really looking forward to my 20 miler on Sunday. I will be running it in the Honored Hero Run. Though, it is not recommended to do such a long run that close to the marathon, I made the choice early on. I was really afraid of the 20 mile distance and I didn’t know if I could do it alone. The only 20 mile event close to me was on October 21st, so I just decided to make it work. I think it will be good practice for me as well for figuring out how to carry my gel and everything with me. Too bad Josh can’t make it to this one.

“Mental will is a muscle that needs exercise, just like the muscles of the body.” -Lynn Jennings

10 comments

  1. I never looked at it like that before. Don’t look down. And you’re right about the 3 miles to go thing during the race. It is a mind trip for sure. Those long runs are a huge mental boost for me. Yes, the speed workouts make me feel rather bad ass but it’s those long runs that build my confidence! Congrats on a great 18 miler!!

Leave a comment

