10 years

On this day in 2002, I did something totally out of character. I took a chance on this cute boy. I thought he was a little dorky but let’s be real…so am I.

I asked him to go to a school play with me. We held sweaty hands the whole night and here we are, 10 years later. Celebrating our 3 year wedding anniversary.

I have come to realize that I have a terrible memory. I hate that I don’t remember things that others do. Details of events that took place and sometimes entire events just don’t stick in my mind. It’s the reason I write. To remember. I wasn’t keeping a diary when josh and I met. I wish I could go back and relive special moments during the first year. But I have kept a box of memorabilia. I stopped when we got married but 7 years of dating is in there. I opened this box and a couple scrapbooks last night and it brought back a lot!

My 17th birthday…We look like babies!!

One time Josh went to New Hampshire with his family. He called me while he was gone and said he had gotten me a gift but he wasn’t sure if I would like it or not. I said “Oh I’m sure I’ll love whatever you give me! As long as it’s not a key chain or something.” Poor guy!! I loved that key chain and kept it on my keys until the middle part broke out.

On our 3 year anniversary Josh sent a dozen roses to my house. I was so excited, I’d never gotten that many roses before! Until I read the card…I was so confused! Was he trying to break up with me? Was this some weird joke I wasn’t getting? What the hell was he pulling??? Then I finally realized he had added a fake rose in to the bunch. I kept that fake rose for a long time.

Josh’s Prom

College intramural football

The Jewel concert Josh took me to in Norman Oklahoma. I was so hoping he would propose to me at that concert. Turns out he had an even better idea…but that’s for a different blog.

The surprise I had waiting for me at my office this morning!

“Not talkin’ ’bout a year; No not three or four; I don’t want that kind of forever; In my life anymore; Forever always seems, to be around when it begins, but forever never seems 
to be around when it ends; So give me your forever; Please your forever; Not a day less will do; From you”-Forever by Ben Harper on the album Welcome to the Cruel World

12 comments

      1. ahh so cute!!! My boyfriend and I dated at 12 for a hot minute then saw each other a few times in hs and got together right after college graduation and have been together ever since! It’s crazy looking back isn’t it!

Leave a comment

