Missing the run

I am going to attempt to put into words how I feel but I am not sure I will be successful.

I have the oddest feeling about my 16 mile run last weekend. I was not particularly looking forward to the run, in fact, I really just wanted to get it over with so I could go home and eat in front of the tv.

But something happened despite my knee pain. Almost, like a bonding with the run. When I put it in to words, it sounds silly and a little mental but it’s the truth and that is what I am trying to do here.

I have not run since the 16 miler on Saturday because I am resting my knee. But this week I  find myself feeling nostalgic about the experience. It is almost like I spent time with a dear friend or sister and now I am missing them. I almost don’t even want to share too much about how I felt or what I was thinking during the run out of respect for the experience. It’s as though my friend told me a secret and I will not share it here.

I keep finding myself daydreaming about that run. I am at work, going about my day to day, but I am wishing I was back in the rain just running.

I miss the run. I am itching for another one. But not just a 3 or 4 miler, no, those don’t do it anymore. I am actually looking forward to the next long run. Who am I??

3 comments

  1. I totally know how you feel! I had a long run last weekend that was just amazing. Everything came together, and I enjoyed my 3 hours out on the roads. It’s such a great feeling, and its honestly why I run. Gotta keep hoping for that feeling to come back!

Leave a comment

