Fail as much as you can as fast as you can

Last week I had the opportunity to visit with the award winning young entrepreneur Max Durovic. He is the inventor of “sign spinning”. You can see it in this youtube ad for the show It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

Max is so inspiring! He had a lot of advice for hopeful entrepreneurs but one thing he said that stuck with me was this:

Fail as much as you can as fast as you can

Max also said start now. Don’t wait. It will never be a good time, and in fact, it’s better to start your business when you are young and most likely don’t have children or a mortgage yet (which I don’t).

I left feeling so inspired! I have been wanting to sell my art on the side, I just always make excuses why I shouldn’t or can’t. And especially after figuring out how much time I am devoting to marathon training, I could be doing a lot of creative things with my 25 hours a week! But what holds me back? You guessed it…fear of failure and the constant need for perfection.

Marathon training is still very important to me right now, as well as physical fitness. But I promised myself when I was losing weight that once I got to my goal, I would stop exercising all the time and transfer some of that energy to my art. Well, that didn’t happen. I think it has to do with the fact that exercising provides immediate feel good results. I am still struggling with finding my artistic identity so I fail a lot. I ruin a lot of canvases. It’s no secret that I don’t like to fail. But it’s the failing that makes us better.

And, if I am honest with myself, I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I am still afraid of being fat. I obsess over fitness because that is what society finds impressive. But I need to seriously consider what I find impressive. What is important to me. Running a marathon is such an accomplishment and no doubt, I will be extremely proud when I cross the finish line. But it was never a life long goal. Only a mission that I developed to help maintain my weight loss.

I have made so much progress toward healthy eating. I rarely feel dependent on food anymore. I can thank marathon training for this progress. It wasn’t until I had a reason to fuel my body properly that I started to see food in a different way. I think that I may finally be ready to start making steps toward a life that doesn’t revolve around eating and then exercising it off. I mean it is fun but it is exhausting. It takes up so much time. Time that I could be spending working toward my real dream and my life long goals.

“One half of knowing what you want is knowing what you must give up before you get it.”  ~Sidney Howard

2 comments

  1. This is such a good and deep post. You do have to determine what impresses you, and then you will determine how to balance the fitness portion of your life with the artistic one in order to achieve your goals. I started my fitness journey because I was feeling fat, but now that I havee lost most of the weight, I do it because I found out I really really enjoy it. I think we all go through times like this. I hope you find that balance you are looking for!

Leave a comment

