The body achieves what the mind believes…until the knee pipes up

Saturday I ran 16 miles. I really wasn’t sure how this run would go. After my half marathon last weekend, I had some IT band issues on my right side (always my right leg). During my other runs of the week, I had some right knee issues but nothing too serious. It was also raining on Saturday but it was very important to me NOT to put this run off.

You see, I had put this run on a pedestal. Ever since I saw it when I was creating my training plan I just kept thinking, damn that’s gonna be hard! It was the crossroads between half marathon distance and marathon distance. This was IT!

So, I went ahead with my plan to run the 16 miles despite the rain and knee issues. The rain didn’t bother me, in fact I loved it because it kept me cool. I was rockin a 10 minute per mile pace, which is really good for my long runs. But at mile 8 I started feeling a sharp pain on the top of my right knee cap. Almost like a stab every time I stepped.

Mile 8. I still had 8 more to go. I was feeling awesome, I had energy, I didn’t feel the need to stop and walk. Other than my knee, I was feeling amazing! I wanted to keep going. I considered stopping for the day and finishing the other 8 on Sunday but again, with the pedestal. I really needed to finish this run all at once. To prove to myself that I could do it. And also because I really needed a win. My week was full of little slip ups and impulse decisions that led to a couple extra pounds. Like this delicious muffin…

My knee hurt the rest of the way but I still finished in 2:42, a 10 minute per mile pace. Josh thinks I may have the beginnings of bursitis, I REALLY hope he’s wrong. Webmd says that takes 6-8 weeks to heal. I just do not have time for that. It is already much better today after rest and ice the rest of the weekend.

I think I will cross train this week just to be safe and see how it feels at the end of the week.

This is my face when I just finished 16 miles in the rain by the way…

I thought I looked pretty happy but when I see the picture now it really reminds me of Melman in Madagascar…

Oh I’m not smiling…that’s gas…

“That which is escaped now is pain to come.”-Proverb

10 comments

  1. Girl, you know I know the IT band is no joke. I am still recovering from the pain/swelling. It is definitely not an injury that you should push through. However, it could just be ‘runner’s knee’, either way — please be careful and listen to your body!!

    Congratulations on sixteen miles!! That’s amazing!!

Leave a comment

