Skipping steps

So I have been too busy freaking out over Jewel (which I promise I am over now) to tell you all the really awesome news…I am running my first half marathon this weekend!!

Yeah, the problem is I’m not that excited. I mean, I am looking forward to it…it’s just…different.

When I told Josh that I wanted to run a marathon he was of course, happy. But he also told me he thought I should run a half before I committed to full thing. I thought it over, but eventually decided that this was the time that I needed to run a marathon. I didn’t immediately see another time in my life when I would get this opportunity (which is ludicrous because I do not possess the divine ability to foresee the future).

Anyway, I decided to run a 1/2 as part of my full marathon training. I have already run 12 miles a couple of times and I ran 14 last week. I feel super ready for this race. I just keep viewing it as another training run. I can’t help but think back to my first 10 mile race back in April. The week of, I was freaking out like Jonah Hill in the picture above. It was everything I had worked for and trained for. And I feel weird because for most people, a 1/2 is a big deal!

I guess I am just torn. I feel like I robbed myself of another milestone. But at the same time, I am pretty proud that I am about to run 13.1 miles and I am not freaking out.

Unrelated sidenote: After I was done typing this post, I went back through to read over it and make corrections, etc. I do not know why this is such a problem but I had to correct the word “marathong” to “marathon” no less than 2 times. It’s my life…

“If you want to run, then run a mile.  If you want to experience another life, run a marathon.” –Emil Zatopek

Emil Zatopek

10 comments

  1. I’m not sure if I understand your let down. Is it because you wanted to make the jump all the way to the marathon without running a half first or are you not excited because it’s not your big race? I’m running a half this weekend too and it is part of my marathon training, but it’s still a race and fun and exciting. I may not get the nervous butterflies I once did, but I still get the excited butterflies. And they are way more enjoyable!! And, next time, you should just leave marathong in your post, just for fun. 😉

  2. Jewel AND a half marathon in one week? That’s awesome! I think you’ll be happy with your decision to get a half in before your full if for no reason than getting some practice in. Good luck this weekend!

Leave a comment

