Meeting Jewel

Yesterday I achieved a life-long goal! And it had nothing to do with running or fitness. It was an amazing day! I drove 4 hours to Southlake TX singing along to Jewel all the way.

I stood in line for 2 hours and drove 4 hours home but it was all worth it!

I was pretty disappointed that she wasn’t posing for any pictures. No one came with me so I don’t have any pictures of me at the table with her but that’s ok, I have the memory! If only My life is the best life had been with me!

During the 8 hours driving and 2 hours in line waiting yesterday I had a lot of time to think. I briefly touched on this Monday when I talked about life decisions but I was able to put some more thought into some upcoming life choices I have to make.

I have always been artistic and creative. Even though it can be stressful at times, I much prefer jobs that are super busy and different from day to day. I get bored easily. A couple years ago, I came across a facebook page of an acquaintance from college. I noticed a link to a webpage so I took a look at it. It was a beautifully designed site for her photography business. I was instantly jealous. She was younger than me and already running her own business! That was MY dream.

But this experience with Jewel yesterday made me realize that we have to wait patiently for the right time. I have always made decisions based on what I thought was best for me and my husband. Sometimes I feel like I am missing out. I have a good job, don’t get me wrong. But it’s not what I’ve dreamed of.

One day I will get the opportunity to create my business. I know this as confidently as I knew that I would meet Jewel one day. I just have to wait for the opportunity to arise. When it does, I will know. When the time is right, I will know.

“Be ready when opportunity comes. Luck is the time when preparation and opportunity meet.”-Roy D. Chapin Jr.

5 comments

  1. OOOO!!!! I’ve been waiting for this post ALL DAY!!! And you’re RIGHT! If I had been with you, I would have taken MILLIONS of photos!
    Oh she looks just RADIANT! I’m so so so glad that you got to meet her.

    I have every faith that your business dreams will come true. Do you have any idea of what direction you would like to go? Husbandio have this discussion all the time. We know we want to do SOMETHING – but WHAT?

    1. Isn’t she just beautiful!?! I am not sure exactly what I want to do either…I took a couple painting classes in college and actually got a couple offers from people who wanted to buy from me. But I don’t know if painting is the way I want to go. I think I’d prefer to teach art classes or something.

Leave a comment

