Hey you’re cute!

Last night my husband and I were walking the dogs and an interesting topic came up. It has to do with what I can only call fatism. (like ageism except for those who are overweight).

Together, my husband and I have lost over 100 pounds. Obviously, I have always thought my husband was a catch, even before that.

He has lots of sexy hair

He has beautiful blue eyes

AND he’s good with kids

But lately, lots of other people (and by people I mean girls) seem to be noticing how awesome my husband is

Almost a nightly occurrence while he was waiting tables…

I am very secure in our marriage, and honestly, told him that if flirting got the tips then get after it! So that’s not what this blog is about. It’s more about how we both feel that more people are noticing us now that we are “fitter”.

When I was heavier, people didn’t look at me. Guys would walk by me and never even glance my direction. (not that I’m trying to pick ’em up but you know). It seems like people are just much friendlier with me, will engage me in random conversation at the grocery store or the gas station and that didn’t used to happen.

Josh gets a lot of random call-outs from girls saying “hey,  you’re cute!” (Which, by the way, is that how girls are picking dudes up now??! come on now ladies, let’s be classy)

However, I can’t help but wonder…are people noticing me because I’m thinner or because I am more confident overall? I hold my head up and make eye contact with people now. When I was heavy, I was ashamed and just wanted to disappear.

I guess we’ll never know but in the meantime, we’ll enjoy the attention. We’re closer to 30 than 20 

“Things are beautiful if you love them.” -Jean Anouilh

2 comments

  1. I think it’s a little bit of both! People feed off of each other’s energy. You two are cute, and even cuter together! I’ve noticed that I get a little more attention from dudes since I lost some weight too. I enjoy it, but I definitely don’t know how to react to flirting and end up being awkward. I guess it’s lucky for my husband that I’m out of practice. Hahaha

Leave a comment

