WHY?!

I do not understand WHY I can never sleep the night before a long run. What’s the worst that can happen? The alarm doesn’t go off, I wake up too late and have to do it the next day? I mean, seriously, it doesn’t seem like it should be that big of a deal.

But it is. It takes quite a bit of preparation to run 10+ miles. Not only do I make sure to have water, clothing, energy gel, etc. ready…I also eat a certain meal and rest up the night before. I go to bed super early so I can wake up early (living in Texas I try to do my running before the sun comes up). A lot of thought goes in to it. I don’t just wake and up and say, alright! let’s go 12 miles today.

Took this photo right before I laid down to read before turning out the light…Totally not lame right?

Last Thursday night I just could not sleep. I even took a benadryl in an attempt to prevent this from happening. I woke up at around 4am and then just kept dozing and waking back up to check the time. AnnOyInG!!!

When the clock hit 5:15am I was awake but not rested. Oh well…Time to get up! I proceeded to run 12 painstaking miles.

I think it’s because last week I pertly stated that my long runs were going so well. I was due for a crappy one I guess. I still managed to stay under 11min/mile pace (barely) but I felt like I was walking A LOT! I just didn’t have the motivation. I really wanted to quit. I can be satisfied with 9 miles right?

Wrong. I had to keep going.

I found myself wishing that a car would pass by and hit me so I would have a reason not to finish. What?!

How pitiful am I?? This was only like…mile 6

But I did it and this week is going to be ridiculous at work so I will take it “easy” with a 10 miler. All day I felt exhausted. I felt like I literally didn’t want to move much less run anywhere. I didn’t believe I could if I wanted to. And then I walked out of work and it was about to pour rain and sure enough…I ran to my car.

I hope I can remember that when I’m at about mile 22 of the marathon and I think I can’t go on. If it’s important enough, I can do it.

“Runners just do it – they run for the finish line even if someone else has reached it first.”  -Author Unknown

6 comments

  1. At every training run, my coach always says, “Today is not your race.” Training runs are simply training- whether you walk a lot or make the entire mileagen’t as important as how you perform on race day. Adrenaline, the crowds, and- yes- your training WILL get you to 26.2.

  2. GREAT JOB finishing, even though you were prepared to choose an emergency room visit! For some reason, I was realizing this weekend that for every 1 great long run I have, I usually have 3 really crappy ones. Sometimes just getting through it is the best you can ask for!

Leave a comment

