Who the heck is Pheidippides?

I haven’t really wanted to make a big deal out of marathon training so other than my blog, I don’t really talk about it much. Well, except to my poor husband who probably wishes I would talk about shoe shopping, or Ryan Gosling, or anything but marathon training. But anyway, last week it came up in conversation at work and I revealed to my boss that I was training for a marathon.

Who promptly replied “You know the first ever marathoner died right afterwards?”.

No…actually I did not know that. He showed me the story (according to the ever reliable Wikipedia) about the Greek courier Pheidippides who ran 25 miles from Marathon to Athens to announce a battle had been won. He then collapsed and died.

Not sure how to respond to that…

After the meeting, I went back to my desk and discovered that the article also says that Pheidippides ran 150 miles in the 2 days before that. And even then, this dude lived in 530 BC–490 BC. That was a really long time ago and I am not sure the truth of this story can be verified. So I should be fine right?

So now that that’s cleared up…I’m gonna go look up more funny gifs.

“It hurts up to a point and then it doesn’t get any worse.”- Ann Trason

2 comments

    1. No I haven’t but I will definitely look that up. When my boss told me that story, it got me thinking that I really don’t know much about the history of the marathon or running and I need to be more educated! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a comment

