Don’t come near me

Marathon training has made me quite paranoid…It has completely changed how I look at the world around me.

Only one thought goes through my mind before I decide to do anything: How will this affect my marathon training?

I think of this before I eat, drink, exercise, donate blood, pick out shoes, race my husband across the parking lot, plan a trip, play the tickle game, go swimming…

Literally before I do anything, especially if it involves movement of any kind. Ever since my knee trouble, I am super worried about doing anything that will cause me to sit out again. So I  can’t even make it through a day at work in flats (flats, people) without feeling some twinge in my knee, freaking out and switching to tennis shoes. If we are going to the waterpark, I analyze what shoes to wear to avoid any strain on my knee from walking around all day (since I can’t wear my asics!) and then convince my husband to sit down with me for a while to give my knee a rest.

Are you freakin kidding me? I am 26 years old and in the best shape of my life and I am acting like an old lady! I am just so afraid that I will do something to mess this up. Despite some low times when I ask why in the world I am putting myself through this torture, I WANT to do this. I NEED to do this. And if I injured my knee doing something totally unrelated to training it would be hard for me to accept. (Wouldn’t it be ironic if I got pregnant though?!)

Despite the pride I feel when I make smart choices for my training, I also don’t want to be the biggest stick in the mud ever for the next 3 months. I’d like to be able to enjoy a margarita, some cheesecake or the tickle game with my nephew every once in a while.

3 comments

  1. Marathons consume lives! Funny that you mention pregnancy, because just a couple of days ago I was thinking, dear Lord, please don’t let me get pregnant for the next two months!

Leave a comment

