White Rock Lake 15K

This was a tough run.

At home, I have been having some really good long runs. I have found the “recipe” that works for me and I just follow it every time.

Eat enough the day before, get plenty of carbs (rice, bagel)
Go to bed on time and get 7-8 hours of sleep
Get up early and run before the sun comes up
Run a looped route to allow for water/fuel breaks
Use Power Bar energy blasts (half at the beginning, half in the middle)
Bring plenty of iced water
Bring an extra sweat band and switch out halfway through
Use Map My Run to keep track of progress
Bring a towel to dry off at the end
Stretch and take an ice bath when I get home

If I do all these things, I have a great run! However, it is hard to make sure all these things happen when I plan to use a race as a long run while also on vacation. Here’s what actually happened:

Eat ALL carbs…and cheese and chocolate and have a few margaritas  (over the course of a few days)
Go to bed late and only get 5 hours of sleep
Suffer from gas/bloating/heart burn
Take a bunch of pills to get rid of gas/bloating/heart burn
Begin the run at 7:30am when the sun is already up
Use Power Bar energy blasts (half at the beginning, half in the middle)
Use Map My Run to keep track of progress
Do a few stretches
Drive 30 minutes to a pizza place to demolish half a pizza

Not quite my recipe for success. It was a long 9 miles. Not to mention the fact that I had to pee 3 times before the race started and again halfway through. WHY??!!

Me while my husband was trying to help me with a dynamic warm up

I was so glad to finally cross the finish line!

gender placing      pace       chip time

As usual, Josh was in charge of taking pictures…Not too many flattering ones from the race (he seemed to be taking the candid approach) but I did find it amusing when I was going through them this morning and found these:

I guess it can get boring just waiting around for an hour and a half for someone to get done running…he’s so good to me Smiley

I was covered in sweat from head to toe. It was disgusting.

3rd place in my division

They were placing the top 4 in each division and I got 3rd. I was pretty excited to place in this race, I wasn’t expecting to. However, after looking through the results this morning, I realized that only 4 people in my division competed in the race. So that was kind of a downer, but I still love that plastic trophy!

I was so glad I put this song toward the end of the playlist because I definitely needed it!

“Cause sometimes you just feel tired
You feel weak and when you feel weak

You feel like you wanna just give up
But you gotta search within you

You gotta find that inner strength
And just pull that s*** out of you
And get that motivation to not give up

And not be a quitter
No matter how bad you wanna just fall flat on your face and collapse “

Eminem, Till I Collapse on the album The Eminem Show

5 comments

  1. Congratulations on your age group award! That’s a pretty snazzy medal too. And yeah, I always have to pee 2-3 times before starting (drives my husband nuts), and then I almost always need to pee during. What’s up with that?

Leave a comment

