She’s the man

Does anyone remember She’s the Man with Amanda Bynes and Channing Tatum? It is one of my favorites! Besides the fact that Channing Tatum is one hot dude…

…I’ve always found this movie really inspiring. For those who haven’t seen it, here is a short synopsis from the ever reliable Wikipedia:

Viola Hastings (Amanda Bynes) is a high school soccer player at Cornwall, which has just cut its girls’ soccer team. After her request to join the boys’ team is refused by the misogynistic coach, she finds a way to play for Cornwall’s rival, Illyria. Viola’s twin brother, Sebastian (James Kirk), is supposed to enter Illyria as a new student, and since he is instead going to a contest in London with his fledgling band, Viola decides to pass herself off as Sebastian and join the boys’ soccer team at Illyria. She hopes to beat the Cornwall team and humiliate her cocky and sexist goalie ex-boyfriend. With the help of her stylist friend Paul and her girlfriends, Viola becomes the quirky “Sebastian”.

At Illyria, Viola’s roommate is Duke Orsino (Channing Tatum), a good-looking striker on the soccer team. Tryouts see Viola assigned to second string, much to her dismay. Duke agrees to put in extra soccer practice time with Sebastian. Coach Dinklage eventually moves “Sebastian” up to first string, and he is delighted.

The reason I love this movie so much is because it always moves me to action.  Viola goes to extreme measures to keep playing soccer because she loves it so much. She works hard to get placed on first string by getting up before the sun rises to practice and pushing herself as hard as she can to keep up with the boys on the team.

But let’s have some real talk here for a second: if I knew Channing Tatum was going to be out on the running trail, you know my butt would be there every day no matter what.
Smiley

Whenever I start to lose my drive I like to watch movies like this to get inspired again. It helps me regain my motivation to see others going after their goals and being successful. Any one else have a movie that inspires them?

“Obstacles are what you see when you take your eyes off the goal.”-Vince Lombardi

4 comments

  1. That is SUCH a funny movie! I always thought Amanda could be my best friend…until she went off the deep end. And yeah, Channing has been on my radar since Step Up (I forget which of these two movies came first).

    Run, Fat Boy, Run is this ridiculous British comedy, but it inspires me to get out and get running.

Leave a comment

