What healthy means to me

I am going to change gears a little this week and not post about running today. I was going through some stuff I have saved on a jump drive and came across something I had written to myself when I was starting the weight loss process. With all the signals in society today, I have had a hard time focusing on my ultimate goal (which was not just “to get skinny”). I originally set out on this journey hoping that the skinny would be a side effect of my ultimate goal of gaining confidence in myself. I realized that the unhappiness I was feeling was caused by a lack of love for who I am which was being exacerbated by the fact that I was overweight.

I have come a very long way, but I do find myself with a complex. It is a common misconception that losing weight will just “make you happy”. And this is not the case. I told myself if I could just get back down to my original weight I would be satisfied. Well, I am 10 pounds under that now and I still struggle to be satisfied. I still look in the mirror and see the flaws. I foolishly believed that I would gain perspective as a divine gift from above. The truth is, I have had to work to gain this perspective. I have to remind myself daily to see the positive things about my body and my life.

Coming across the note I had written myself came at a really good time.

It was titled  “What healthy means to me”

  • To talk to God every day about everything
  • To believe in God’s grace and eternal love not only for me, but everyone
  • To love my body, especially the flaws
  • To love others without stopping to inquire whether or not they are worthy
  • To be gracious to myself and others
  • To refrain from negative self talk
  • To focus on the goals, not the obstacles
  • To keep jealousy and envy out of my heart and mind
  • To make a little time for myself everyday for reflection and stress relief
  • To make time for hobbies and interests
  • To make smart food choices that provide my body with essential nutrients
  • To exercise, in some form, a little everyday
  • To remember the story of the dragonfly

“Until you make peace with who you are, you’ll never be content with what you have.” -Doris Mortman

2 comments

Leave a comment

