“Running on Empty”

I came across an article on Runnersworld.com. It’s called Running on Empty by Caleb Daniloff. It was a pretty interesting read and it got me thinking…I have mentioned my eating problems once before and I am still struggling to deal with them. I have always depended on food for comfort and through my weight loss journey I have been re-teaching myself how to view food.

It has been tough to train for a marathon with these issues dueling in my head. In the article, the author quotes a professor at the University of North Texas:

“The more competitive people are, even if they’re just competitive with themselves, the more likely they are to have the kind of extremist thinking that can lead to disordered eating patterns,” says Patricia Kaminski, associate professor of psychology at the University of North Texas, who’s helped many people with eating disorders. “‘If running five miles is going to help me train well, then running 10 is better. If a 1,200-calorie diet is good to help me lose weight, then a 500-calorie diet must be great.'”

I know I need to feed my body the right foods to fuel my runs. But I often feel like I am overeating. If I do not eat enough, I have a bad run and feel like a failure. Not only this, I have been a picky eater since early childhood. It makes finding foods that I can tolerate difficult. Though, I realize I am an adult and I make the decision every day what foods go into my body, I still find myself craving a big ol’ bowl of mac and cheese over a salad with vinaigrette dressing.

But I need to trust the training. Rest days are important. Eating healthfully will fuel my body.

I have to remember how far I have come, but I still see how far I still have to go…Have I said that before?

Any one else seen this circulating on pinterest lately?

“I hold this as a rule of life: Too much of anything is bad.” -Terence

2 comments

Leave a comment

