The 30lb iphone

I’ve been using my iphone to track my long runs using Map My Run. In my other hand, I am carrying a small water container. My arms are dying on these runs! I am so used to carrying nothing (except sometimes my car key) that my arms are killing me when I run carrying stuff! I really don’t enjoy having a belt strapped to my hips but I don’t know which one is more annoying…

 

Maybe that will be me after this marathon training is over =)

 “The marathon. How an average runner becomes more than average.”  -New Balance

6 comments

  1. When I go to the gym I run with my iphone for music. I have an althetic armband that I put the iphone in. Was a little weird at first, but I got used to it quickly. I’ve been using one that was originally intended for my old clunky ipod (can you say 2005?) for the last 7yrs (with new phones) and only recently is the elastic starting to wear out. So even though they are a bit expensive ($20-30), they last!!!! They sell these at REI or any store that sells electronics: Target, Walmart, Best Buy etc… speaking of, I need to get a new one 🙂

  2. Amazon has some cheap models, but I suggest going to an actual store to see how your ipod fits in the armband. Then if you find it online for cheaper, go that route! I am hesitant about ordering something on Amazon only to find it actually doesn’t fit my phone quite right….

  3. Also wanted to ask about the running app you use. Does it use a lot of data? I am worried about using an app to track long runs that causes me to go over my data limit if it continually uses data while I run while recording… have you notice anything like that? I’ve been trying to look online for forums discussing apps and data usage and there are mixed results. Some people say to turn off 4g and location services, but I don’t understand how it can track your run if it can’t find out where you are. Anyway, if you could give me your 2 cents about the app that would be great!

    1. I read the same thing about Map My Run which is the app I use. I have not gone over my data limit using it, but I also only use it for my long runs. I turn it off right after I am done so that it is not continuously gathering information about my location. I also don’t use a lot of data in general either (I try to use wifi whenever possible and only use data to look up stuff in an emergency) So I think as long as you are aware of your use, you should be fine. It is a really helpful app, I have been loving it!

      1. Awesome thanks for your input! I too use wifi at the house, so I don’t think I use a whole lot of data. I will download it soon and try it out on my 5mi run on Sunday to see how it goes!

Leave a comment

