OCD can be a good thing

When I was younger, my friends used to accuse me of having OCD. I really don’t know why exactly…I don’t experience your stereotypical OCD behavior, washing my hands repeatedly or switching lights on and off. I do, however,  gain relief from my obsessive thoughts (what will I eat today, how will I avoid stopping in at the fast food place, when will I exercise, etc.) by compulsively making lists and color coding things to do in my planner. That’s not too out of the ordinary right?

With all the traveling I have been doing lately (I’ve only had 1 free weekend in over 2 months) I just feel out of control. When I feel out of control, I start to act different…I get irritable, have difficulty sleeping, and find that I start talking to myself a lot. (At least I have dogs so I can pretend I’m talking to them). After I sit down and make a plan, I feel a huge sense of relief. I feel in control again. Now, I just need to maintain the will power to stick with the plan I created.

Last week, I did really well with my workouts. My knee is finally feeling better and I have more energy. My meal plan…not so much. Without Josh here, it is really difficult for me to cook at home and it’s very tempting to eat out. When I was losing weight, the first thing I gave up was drinking. I rarely consumed alcohol during that time unless it was a pretty special occasion. Since hitting my goal weight, I seem to have let that go a bit…

So, this week my goal is to stick with my planner. Get done what I need to get done every day (at work and at home) as well as follow my exercise and diet plan. If I do that, then I will reward myself with a new workout top at the end of the week!

I am excited because I will get to wear it at the 3 Amigos 4 Miler on Sunday Smiley

“We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tons.” -Jim Rohn

5 comments

  1. I do something similar with my exercise schedule. If I don’t plan out what I will do each day of the week, it is likely to get done. Same with my food. It kind of throws me into a tizzy if I don’t know what I am going to be eating for the week, especially if I’m at the grocery store and realize I didn’t do my meal plan! Lunches are easy but dinners are more difficult. I think we all have OCD tendencies, so don’t dwell too much on it. 🙂

  2. Yes I concur about the OCD thing, I say that I am just very ‘meticulous’ about every faucet in my life (writing things down, putting them in my phone as back up reminders…) My dog and I also tend to have one sided conversations….

Leave a comment

