Through Someone Else’s Mirror

Not being able to run the last 2 weeks has been killing me!! I definitely feel it has been a test of my will power. The will to not run and also the will to not feel guilty or lazy. It is a mind game. Some days were good, most were a constant struggle to remind myself that I was not being lazy. I was hurt and sick. It is ridiculous to feel bad about that! But still, when I looked in my mirror, I felt like my tummy was slowly expanding (even though it wasn’t).

But, I was at my Aunt and Uncle’s house this past weekend. I had been trying to avoid the mirror but I caught a glimpse when I was getting dressed. And I was like, whoa! I’m skinny! It was really weird. I see myself every day but for some reason I still see the person I used to be.

At that moment, I realized I need to start looking at myself through someone else’s mirror. I need to give myself more credit for the things I have accomplished. I think it’s important for us all to remember that we are our own worst critic. Sometimes that is a good thing, but not for me. (my internal critic is just a jerk)

I have endured some difficult situations in my life but none have been so challenging as re-training myself how to think. When a negative thought arises, I try to immediately replace it with a positive one. It was surprising to see how many negative things I was telling myself every day once I started paying attention. I am much better now, but still have a long way to go.

I am just wondering how common it is for people who have lost a lot of weight to struggle with this?

“Too many people overvalue what they are not and undervalue what they are.” -Malcolm Stevenson Forbes

6 comments

  1. Thanks for the award! I’ll start working on a post re: Versatile Blogger Award, but it probably won’t come till next week…

    I deal with the same self image problems. I’ve lost 20+ pounds over the last year but I still look in the mirror and see all the imperfections, especially after seeing photos from my last race. Blech! It will take time to undo the mental damage I’ve done to myself, but it is getting better. =)

    Good for you being able to see yourself as the strong woman you are!

Leave a comment

